Farin-style Cornbread

I was really excited when I moved to yard and saw cornbread on the supermarket shelves. I was a little let down after my first bite of Jamaican cornbread, however; this was NOT the kind of cornbread I was used to.

No lie, the rather bland or “fresh” Jamaican cornbread has grown on me – it is yummy with cheese or pear – however, American-style cornbread is a nice reminder of home and is a GREAT way to make friends, fi true. I do not even know how many times I have made this here in JA for friends, neighbors and co-workers – everyone loves it and they always ask me for more. i am actually going to make a batch after i finish writing this. There are more “authentic” ways to make cornbread than this way (such as the iron skillet method) but I like this one because it is pretty much fool proof. Hope you enjoy it, and share the love!

2/3 cup butter, softened (I use the unsalted anchor butter. do NOT use margarine)
1 c sugar
3 eggs
1 2/3 c milk (whole milk powder works fine, but just mix 1 2/3 c water with the appropriate amt of milk powder – it will be a little more than 1 2/3 c total)
2 1/3 c flour
1 c cornmeal
4 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 240 degrees C. Ovens may vary. Cream butter and sugar in a large bowl. I just use a pastry blender (common name: mashed potato mixer) to do this. In another bowl, combine eggs and milk. In another bowl, combine flour, cornmeal, baking powder and salt. Pour into a greased or oiled pan – I use 2 pans. Bake in oven for about 20 minutes or until fork comes out clean. Cut into squares and remove from pan immediately. Best when served hot with a little butter, but delicious later as well! You can store leftovers in the fridge.

2 thoughts on “Farin-style Cornbread

  1. i love how sweet and creamy this recipe is. i put the whole thing in a 9×9 square “brownie pan” and turned the temp up to 325 but it still took up to 45-60 min to bake the whole way though in such a large pan.

Leave a Reply

