Spicy Pineapple Ice Pop

P1050483

So the next in the series of paletas are Spicy Pineapple Ice Pops. I didn’t use my molds because they are small and I wanted to have lots of chunks of pineapple in them so I used little plastic cups (the kind you’ll find used in the shops to serve rum) and popsicle sticks. The recipe calls for 1 ½ cups of pineapple chunks but since the pineapples are pretty small here I’d say it’d be better to go half chunks and half blended. I didn’t have fresh hot peppers so I skipped adding that, but if you can find some or have a plant then I’m sure it will give a good flavor. You could try scotch bonnet, but I think that the flavor might be too overpowering.

Ingredients:

1 cup water

½ cup sugar

1 small jalapeno (or other mild hot pepper)

1 ripe pineapple

2 tbls fresh lime juice

1-2 tsp ground hot pepper

½ tsp salt

Directions:

Combine water and sugar in saucepan, heat and stir until sugar dissolves. Add hot pepper and let simmer for 5 minutes. Remove pepper.

Finely dice 1 ½ cup (or half) of pineapple and coarsely chop the rest. Mix diced pineapple with ground hot pepper and salt and set aside. Put the rest of the pineapple in a blender and blend with syrup and lime.

Pour mixture into molds (I used 4 of the cups filled about 3/4)

Freeze for about half an hour then add diced pineapple and popsicle stick.

P1050479

Leave a Reply

